

LG Group Fire Commission 24 September 2010

Item 1

Membership of the LG Group Fire Commission and meeting dates 2010 / 2011

Purpose of report

For information.

Summary

- 1. The Commission is invited to note its membership for 2010 / 11 (attached as **Appendix A**) and its Lead Members (shown below):
- Councillor Brian Coleman (Chairman, Conservative, London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority)
- Councillor Fred Walker (Vice-Chair, Labour, Greater Manchester FRA)
- Councillor Paul Shannon (Deputy Chair, Liberal Democrats, Greater Manchester FRA)
- Councillor Christopher Newbury (Deputy Chair, Independent, Wiltshire FRA)
- 2. The Commission is invited to note the dates of future Commission meetings, which are:

Friday 10 December 2010, Friday 11 February 2011, Friday 17 June 2011 (all 11.00am – 1.00pm)

Recommendations

Members are invited to:

- note the membership and Lead Members of the Fire Services Commission;
- note the provisional dates for future Commission meetings; and

Action

As agreed by the Commission.

Contact officer: Paul Johnston

Position: Member Support Officer, LGA

Phone no: 020 7664 3031

E-mail: paul.johnston@local.gov.uk



Appendix A

LG Group Fire Commission membership

All Fire Authorities in full or corporate membership of the Association have the right to representation and voting on this Commission in accordance with Article 10 (and Schedule 1) of the LG Group Constitution, Standing Orders and Political Conventions.

Additional members from fire authorities appointed as necessary by the political groups to ensure political balance as provided by Article 9.3.

Nominating Body	Authority	Member	Party
Combined Fire	Avon	Peter Abraham	Con
Authorities			
u	Bedfordshire & Luton	Sian Timoney	Lab
u	Royal Berkshire	Paul Bryant	Con
u	Buckinghamshire and	David Rowlands	Con
	Milton Keynes		
u	Cambridgeshire &	Roy Pegram	Con
	Peterborough		
u	Cheshire	David Topping	Con
u	Cleveland	Jean O'Donnell	Lab
u	Derbyshire	David Wilson	Con
u	Devon & Somerset	Mark Healey	Con
u	Dorset	Chris Bulteel	Con
u	Durham & Darlington	Gordon Tennant	Lab
u	East Sussex	Ted Kemble	Con
u	Essex	Anthony Hedley	Con
u	Hampshire	Royston Smith	Con
u	Hereford & Worcester	Peter Jones CBE	Con
u	Humberside	Brian Jefferies	Lib/Dem
u	Kent and Medway	Bryan Cope	Con
u	Lancashire	David O'Toole	Con
u	Leicestershire	Peter Roffey	Con
ш	North Yorkshire	John Fort	Con
u	Nottinghamshire &	Darrell Pulk	Lab
	City of Nottingham		
u	Shropshire & Wrekin	Stuart West	Con
u	Stoke on Trent &	Len Bloomer	Con
	Staffordshire		
u	Wiltshire & Swindon	Robert Hall	Con



County Councils	Cumbria	Gary Strong	Con
u	Gloucestershire	Will Windsor-Clive	Con
u	Hertfordshire	Keith Emsall	Con
ш	Lincolnshire	Peter Robinson	Con
и	Norfolk	Harry Humphrey	Con
u	Northamptonshire	Andre Gonzalez de Savage	Con
u	Northumberland	Alan Thompson	Lib/Dem
и	Oxfordshire	Judith Heathcoat	Con
и	Suffolk	Rae Leighton	Con
и	Surrey	Kay Hammond	Con
и	Warwickshire	Richard Hobbs	Con
ш	West Sussex	Peter Evans	Con
London Fire and Emerger	ncy Planning Authority	Brian Coleman	Con
ш		Maurice Heaster	Con
ш		Tony Arbour	Con
ш		David Cartwright	Con
ш		Navin Shah	Lab
и		Colin Aherne	Lab
и		Terry Stacy	Lib/Dem
и		Simon Walsh	Mayoral
			Appointee
Metropolitan Fire &	Greater Manchester	Paul Shannon	Lib/Dem
Rescue Authorities			
и	u	John Bell	Con
и	u	Jack Walton	Con
и	Merseyside	Tony Newman	Lab
u	u	Jimmy Mahon	Lab
и	South Yorkshire	James Andrews	Lab
и	u	Paul Lakin	Lab
u	Tyne & Wear	Tom Wright	Lab
	ű	Nick Forbes	Lab
и	West Midlands	David Hinton	Lab
		Neil Eustace	Lib/Dem
u	u	John Alden	Con
	West Yorkshire	David Ridgway	Lib/Dem
u	u	Peter Harrand	Con
u .		Andrea McKenna	Lab
Unitary	Isle of Wight	Barry Abraham	Con
Welsh Fire Authorities	Mid & West Wales Fire	Vacany	
	North Wales Fire	Sharon Frobisher	Con
	South Wales Fire	Anthony Ernest	Con



Balancing Members				
Conservative (5)				
	Buckinghamshire CC	Stephen Adams		
	Cornwall FRA	Lance Kennedy		
	Essex FA	Ann Holland		
	Royal Berkshire FA	Angus Ross		
	Wiltshire & Swindon	Mike Bawden		
	FA			
Labour (13)	1		1	
	Cheshire FA	John Joyce		
	Cleveland FA	Brenda Forster		
	Gtr Manchester FRA	Fred Walker		
	Merseyside FRA	Dave Hanratty		
	Merseyside FRA	Les Byrom		
Liberal Democrat (14)	1		1	
	Dorset CC	David Milsted		
	Gloucestershire CC	Jeremy Hilton		
	Hampshire FRA	Roger Price		
	Merseyside FRA	Eddie Clein		
	North Yorkshire FRA	Caroline Seymour		
	Nottingham & City of	Alex Foster		
	Nottingham FRA			
	Essex CC	Tom Smith-Hughes		
Independent (7)				
	Wiltshire FA	Christopher Newbury		